Patrol Dads

If you are like me, you’ve probably been chomping at the bit to see the new Troop Leader’s Guidebook that is supposed to replace the Scoutmaster’s Handbook.  There are so many things that you come across as a Scoutmaster and the 9th edition of the SM Handbook, really falls short. (The most useful edition, for me, has been the 3rd Edition, though others have their favorites).

One of the things that I’ve been trying to formalize is training within the troop for our leaders, especially the ASMs.  Each of our ASMs is assigned a Patrol Leader to mentor.  I’ve posted before on the Troop Advisor responsibilities, which gives an exhaustive, if not exhausting overview of the job. I came across this from 1957 the other day.  Kind of sums everything up in a few pages.   My favorite line is the “Eye Test”, very useful tool!

PD_Page0PD_Page1PD_Page2PD_Page3PD_Page4

Here’s a PDF version:  Patrol Dad

 

One thought on “Patrol Dads

Leave a comment