Philmont Training…Sir!

Our Council’s Philmont Contingent leaves on July 11th.  I’m as ready as I’m going to be, but feel that I’m not as ready as I can be.  Over the last year I’ve lost 95 lbs, went from being able to walk 15 minutes on the Stairmaster @ 2mph to 90 minutes at 4mph.  My stamina and endurance is as high as I can remember it being back in my old army days, I’m not quite as strong and as fast as I was, but I can now run a mile in under 8 minutes, swim a mile in under 20 minutes and have a comparative abundance of energy, but still…  I’m worried…

This week I sent an email to the Lead Contingent Advisor with my workout stats:
Monday –  40 minutes on Stair Master / 3 miles with 26 lb pack and 1 mile (about 20 minutes) on treadmill, 8% grade
Tuesday –  60 minutes on interval treadmill program, average 3.3 mph and average 7% grade with 26 lb pack
Wednesday– 60 minutes on interval treadmill program, average 3.5 mph & 9% grade with 26 lb pack
Thursday– – 60 minutes on interval treadmill program, average 3.3 mph & 9% grade with 26 lb pack

To put this in perspective, the Lead Advisors last 4 workouts:
6/18 – 3:26 (that’s 3 hours and 26 minutes!) on Stair Master – 17.0 miles via 817 floors
6/23 – 5:17  on StairMaster – 26.3 miles via 1,263 floors
6/25 – 3:00 on StairMaster- 14.7 miles via 710 floors
6/27 – 4:22 on StairMaster –  20.1 miles via 965 floors

While he is a huge part in motivating me to my current level of success, his admittedly insane level of training keeps me worrying.

 

Leave a Reply

