Eagle Scout Proposals

I’m trying not to use this blog as a place to rant about perceived injustices in the world of scouting, so I’m not going to give a lot of backstory, but…

I’ve had some challenges with the “Old Guard” scouters who have their own ideas of what constitutes compliance for the Eagle Service Project requirements.  Unhappily, I must confess that I’ve had no success in arguing for the case of “read the requirements as they are stated, and expect the Eagle Candidate to do the same and comply with them”.

Sometimes I feel that maybe the people I’m arguing with have never actually read the advancement guidelines, which is unfortunate, because they are ones in authority.  I’ve also had little success in getting an explanation of what their expectations are or how to prepare our troop for the rigors involved in getting District Approval for the project.

So, as I often do…  I over compensate.  And here’s what I have, the annotated guide to the Eagle Scout Proposal Workbook. 

Disclaimer:  If you follow the Scoutmastercg.com blog, you may remember an excellent article by him about the Life to Eagle Guide , decrying the nonsense of Districts and Councils providing “resources” to scouts that do nothing but overcomplicate a process that is simple in essence.  I am not trying to provide this “resource” to scouts.  This guide is for Scouters that have their own opinions about what the workbook says.  The only notes and comments in the guide come strictly from BSA published documents pertaining to the requirement except for the introduction which introduces the document.  The purpose of this document was to ensure that I wasn’t going crazy and that I understood the Eagle Proposal as written and that there wasn’t some obscure rule that I wasn’t understanding.

4 thoughts on “Eagle Scout Proposals

  1. Maybe I’m naive, but I rarely believe anyone that volunteers for Scouting, and puts in the time and energy that we do, is doing it for the wrong reasons. I assume that they are either ignorant or incompetent, but rarely malicious. My biggest hope is that when I screw up (and I do regularly) that others assume the same for me, cause I always have the best intentions at heart.

  2. Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the images on this blog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Leave a Reply

