Keep your focus on the why!

I’ve been getting a lot of comments lately.  Summer is coming up and I’m seeing some people that I haven’t seen in a while and everyone needs to comment on my weight.

Over the last year or so I’ve lost almost 100 lbs.  Before you get all excited, please know that I work for a Fitness Company that manages Health Clubs, so I’ve worked everyday for the last 12 years in a gym, so the real question should be how could I have possible gotten so large that I would need to lose 100 lbs?  But I digress.

The funny thing is that I’m not as excited about it as everyone else seems to be.  Sure I look better, feel better, have more energy, etc.  But I didn’t feel bad before.  I didn’t lose weight to impress anyone or to feel better.  I didn’t have any health concerns, I was still pretty active (or so I thought) and able to do anything that was needed.  I was just big…. and I’ve been that way since I played college football, so I’ve been kind of used to it.

To lose this amount of weight, I’ve changed my caloric input.  I work out at least 3 – 5 days a week and spend 60 – 90 minutes on the stair master at a time.  I ride bikes on the weekend and I go on tons of Scout Hikes, just finished a 20 miler the other day.   So why did I lose this weight when I really didn’t want to?

Boy Scouts.  Last year my oldest son told me he wanted to go to Philmont with me.  I was hovering around 320 lbs and they have a maximum weight allowance at 240ish for my height.  To go, I had to lose the weight.  I’m down under 230 now and will probably drop a few more pounds before we leave.  I feel better than I have in years, and have found that I didn’t know how bad I felt, but still, losing weight is not my focus.  At least, I try for it not to be.  Sometimes I feel like I’m a little too obsessed with the scale lately and have to remind myself, I’m not trying to be skinny, I’m trying to get ready for Philmont.

I liken this experience to what I’m trying to convey to parents.  I work on Scout Skills with their sons not so they can tie a knot, but so then know what it means to master a skill.  I take them on campouts not so they can have fun but so they can learn to work as a small group and learn how to plan and think for themselves.  I work with them on their rank advancement not so they can earn a badge but so they can learn what it means to earn something, to set goals, to fail sometimes, but get back up and try again.  Along the way they’ll learn to tie knots and will earn badges and have fun, but that’s not my focus.

Leave a Reply

